How long ago was Katrina?

It’s been 3 years since Katrina.  And New Orleans looks like crap.  The city hall annex was completely abandoned on Canal Street and anywhere you walk that’s not in the French Quarter looks eeriely like a ghosttown. As we drove down the street to our hostel, India House, I thought it was in the ghetto due to almost every house being abandoned.  What I came to realize was that almost every block is like that.  We also went to the 9th ward, the hardest hit area.  I didn’t take any pictures because I didn’t want to make a spectacle of people’s bad situation, but I’ll try to describe what I saw.

On every block there was a majority of houses that were abandoned.  I saw a lot of house marked with spray paint saying tons of different things.  The one I saw most often was “TFW.” I didn’t know what that meant so I did a little research.  Apparently there is some debate on what it stands for.  But then I found this blog that has a photo claiming it stands for Task Force Wildcat, as search and rescue team from the national guard.

The people in New Orleans are blatantly still feeling the effects of this terrible experience.  It’s undeniable.  I couldn’t even imagine living in that area.  Imagine: almost every other house on your block is crumbling, falling apart, has its guts on the front lawn or being torn down. Can’t do much for your morale. Not to mention that nasty, persistent and toxic mold.

I saw one house with a giant plywood board on the front porch and on it was painted: “Lord Jesus Christ please help us get back into our house.”

One Response to “How long ago was Katrina?”

  1. Sad

Leave a Reply

